The Embassy celebrates the Anniversary of the Elysée Treaty

On January 22, the Embassy hosted the traditional Franco-German reception celebrating the anniversary of the Elysée Treaty. This year, January 22 also marked the first anniversary of the Treaty of Cooperation and Integration of Aachen signed on January 22, 2019 by the President of the French Republic and Chancellor Angela Merkel.

JPEG - 58.8 kb
From right to left: H.E. Fortunatus Nwachukwu, Apostolic Nuncio and H.E. Ute König, pose with a guest Photo credit: Gerard-Paul Wanliss

As every year, the purpose of this event was to pay tribute to a dedicated civil society figure who has distinguished him or herself in the defence of human rights and the promotion of a noble cause, and thus celebrate the commitment of our two countries to universal values and democracy. In 2020, our two embassies chose Mrs. Diana Mahabhir-Wyatt, former Senator, Director of the Caribbean Center for Human Rights and founder of the Coalition Against Domestic Violence.

JPEG - 106.3 kb
Mrs. Diana Mahabir-Wyatt receives the Franco-German prrize from the Ambassadors of France and Germany as Mrs. Lavroff looks on Photo credit: Gerard-Paul Wanliss

The two Ambassadors hailed the commitment of Diana Mahabhir-Wyatt to multiple causes throughout her life, particularly the fight against violence against women, children’s rights and the protection of the elderly. A Franco-German Civil Society Award was presented to her by the two Ambassadors.

JPEG - 247.8 kb
The two Ambassadors welcome the guests Photo credit: Gerard-Paul Wanliss

A reception followed this tribute attended by members of the Diplomatic Corps, officials of the Government of Trinidad and Tobago, representatives of civil society and members of our two communities.

JPEG - 71.6 kb
Former President of the Republic Mr. Anthony Carmona greets a young guest Photo credit: Gerard-Paul Wanliss
JPEG - 68.6 kb
H.E. Serge Lavroff, Mrs. Diana Mahabir-Wyatt and H.E. Ute König Photo credit: Gerard-Paul Wanliss

Last updated on: 29 January 2020