Recognition of non-French certification in France

As there is no legal equivalence between diplomas obtained outside France and French diplomas, the ENIC-NARIC provides information on the recognition of foreign diplomas in France and issues certificates indicating the level of study which allow for recognition of the level of the diploma obtained in the country of issue.


The Centre for information on academic and professional recognition of diplomas (the ENIC-NARIC) is made up of two networks:

1. The ENIC Network (European Network of Information Centres)

To implement the Lisbon Recognition Convention and, in general, to develop policy and practice for the recognition of qualifications, the Council of Europe and UNESCO have established the ENIC Network (European Network of National Information Centres on academic recognition and mobility). The Council of Europe and UNESCO/CEPES jointly provide the Secretariat for the ENIC Network. The ENIC Network cooperates closely with the NARIC Network of the European Union.

The Network is made up of the national information centres of the States party to the European Cultural Convention or the UNESCO Europe Region. An ENIC is a body set up by the national authorities. While the size and specific competence of ENIC may vary, they will generally provide information on:
- the recognition of foreign diplomas, degrees and other qualifications;
- education systems in both foreign countries and the ENIC’s own country;
- opportunities for studying abroad, including information on loans and scholarships, as well as advice on practical questions related to mobility and equivalence.

2. The NARIC Network (National Academic Recognition Information Centres)

The NARIC network is an initiative of the European Commission and was created in 1984. The network aims at improving academic recognition of diplomas and periods of study in the Member States of the EU, the EEA countries and the associated countries in Central and Eastern Europe and Cyprus. The network is part of the Community’s Programme SOCRATES/ERASMUS, which stimulates the mobility of students and staff between higher education institutions in these countries.

All EU and EEA States and all the associated countries in Central and Eastern Europe and Cyprus have designated national centres, the purpose of which is to assist in promoting the mobility of students, teachers and researchers by providing authoritative advice and information concerning the academic recognition of diplomas and periods of study undertaken in other States. The main users of this service are higher education institutions, students and their advisers, parents, teachers and prospective employers.

The NARICs were designated by the Ministries of Education in the respective countries, but the status and the scope of work of individual NARICs may differ. In the majority of States, institutions of higher education are autonomous, taking their own decisions on the admission of foreign students and the exemption of parts of courses of study programmes that students may be granted on the basis of education undertaken abroad. As a result, most NARICs do not take a decision, but offer on request information and advice on foreign education systems and qualifications.

Source: The ENIC-NARIC.netwebsite

See also:
- section entitled Recognition of qualifications within the European Union
- List of National Information Centres in France (most information in French)

Dernière modification : 20/09/2006

top of the page